Spring Commissioning

One of the most important parts of getting the boat ready for the season is not shopping. A huge amount of time can just vanish while you try to decide which product is the right one for whatever job you need to do next. When spring arrives, I don’t have the time to lose, I need to get the boat prepped to paint, painted, cleaned, the engine re-commissioned, safety equipment checked, rigging overhauled…. Ad infinitum ad nausium.
      To avoid the dreaded loss of time shopping, I review catalogs in late winter when they come out. I put stick-ums on pages so I can locate the stuff I need to order when the time comes. I try to make decisions about what to replace, and how much to spend while the snow is still deep (April this year), then when the time comes, a few minutes on the phone is all I need to make purchases and arrange shipping. Or, in the case of some suppliers who are within driving distance, I have a list. One-trip: done.
      The other nice thing about this method, for me anyway, is that by making lists in the dead of winter I tend to avoid impulse buys and the acquisition of unnecessary items. It is amazing how often something that looked like an absolute “must have” in February looks like a waste of money in May.
      Another key part to the boat maintenance puzzle is to buy what you actually do need in bulk. If I need one vacuum bag, I buy the five pack. I know I will need them and it is a better deal. This does require a little bit of record keeping, but in the spring when everything needs to be done at once, it is much easier for me to consult a list made in March than it is to start searching shelves for a can of bedding compound that I may, or may not have.

 
 

2 Responses to “Spring Commissioning”

  1. Robert F. Tulloch Says:

    In an earlier posting I saw a Mack tractor putting friendship into barn.

    Two questions:

    What kind of trailer is it on? Looking at 38′ hauling about 150 miles.

    What is vertical clearance required? I am looking at a 38′ and I have 11′ clear into a 50′ x 30′ open span shop.

    Thanks

    Best regards

  2. dovetails Says:

    Robert,
    The trailer is a “Brownel Hydraulic” trailer, fairly common now in the boat transportation industry. We found that it was much less expensive to truck the boat to it’s own shed than to pay for storage in a yard.

    The clearance in the boat shed is 14′ to the overhead beams. I based this on the height restrictions for boat transportation, which in this part of the country anyway, are that no part of the vessel may exceed 13’6″ when in position on the trailer.

Leave a Reply

