Toys Made of String

I have been redoing decks on the boat in the evenings, which has not left much time for writing. However, last night it started to rain, so I was sorting photographs when I found the picture below.

Turk's Head bracelets

This was an example of what happens when an uncle is trying to come up with things to do with his niece and those sailors arts came to the rescue. Neither the Turk’s head bracelet for Ginger (the Bear) nor the one I made for my niece lasted very long. I gather my niece washed hers so many times that it wore out, and Ginger lost hers (she is not the most responsible bear). What did last was the memory of tying those bracelets, and the fun we had making something cool out of a piece of string.

Leave a Reply

