The Wooden Computer

I have always loved sculpture that fills a second function. A piece that works as sculpture, but that does something else too has an added element of surprise. My wooden computer is an example of what I mean.
         This is a piece that I made a little more than a decade ago, at a time when what I needed was a better way to organize my desk space. What I set out to make was a sort of file holder; something with places to sort, and store, the flotsam, and jetsam that covered my desk. I thought it would be fun to make something to meet my organizational needs and play up the impression I sometime make that I am a Luddite. Thus the wooden computer was born.

the Wooden Computer

         The front of the monitor opens and has three shelves, the “A” drive, “B” drive, and “C” drive. The keyboard opens and has pens and pencils in it, and the mouse just sits there projecting attitude.

Computer Mouse

         The wood computer still sits on my desk, and still works, in fact it has never crashed. Like most technology that has never failed, I tend to forget about it and take it for granted. At least, that is until someone new stops in to the office, at some point the visitor will notice the wooden computer, fun ensues, and I am reminded of why I made it in the first place.

One Response to “The Wooden Computer”

  1. Wooden Toys Says:

    That is amazing, I can honestly say I have never seen anything like it. It certainly looks more reliable than my computer. The attention to detail is really good and the attitude mouse is a great touch. I think it would be a real talking point to have one in the office and would bring a much needed chuckle.

Leave a Reply

